APA Style 7th ed Citation Guide - Langara Library

Notes on books/ebooks

• Do not include the place of publication
• Include a DOI for all works that have a DOI
• If an online book on a freely available website has no DOI, include the URL
• For ebooks from a library database (e.g. Proquest, Ebsco, Safari, etc.), do not provide a URL or the database name 
• Capitalize the first word in the title, the first word in the subtitle and all proper nouns (Sentence case)

Basic Format

Author, A. A. (publication year). Title of work: Subtitle of work (edition). Publisher.

Capitalize the first word in the title, the first word in the subtitle and all proper nouns. (Publication Manual, 2020, section 10.2, p. 321)
Place of publication is no longer included

Reference List

Love, H. (2021). Underdogs: Social deviance and queer theory. The University of Chicago Press.

In-Text

(Love, 2021)

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M., Lastname, F. M., & Lastname, F. M. (YEAR). Title of work: Subtitle of work (edition). Publisher.

Reference List

Cozby, P. C., & Mar, R. A. (2024). Methods in behavioural research (4th Canadian ed.). McGraw Hill.

Invert all author’s names: give surnames and initials for up to and including 20 authors. When authors number 21 or more, include the first 19 author’s names, then insert three ellipses, and add the last author’s name.

In-Text

(Cozby & Mar, 2024)

For 3 or more authors always use et al. However, for 2 authors, cite both names every time.

Use this format when citing a chapter of an edited book. 

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M., & Lastname, F. M. (YEAR). Title of chapter. In F. M. Lastname, F. M. Lastname, F. M. Lastname, & F. M. Lastname (Eds.), Title of book: Subtitle of book (edition, pages). Publisher.

Reference List

Taylor, C. (with Stockert, P. A.). (2024). Sleep. In B. J. Astle, W. Duggleby, P. A. Potter, P. A. Stockert, A. G. Perry, & A. M. Hall (Eds.), Canadian fundamentals of nursing (7th ed., pp. 1073-1096). Elsevier. 

In-Text

(Taylor, 2024)

Use the abbreviation Ed. for a single editor and Eds. for multiple editors

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M., & Lastname, F. M. (YEAR). Title of work: Subtitle of work. Publisher. URL

Reference List

Betts, J. G., Young, K. A., Wise, J. A., Johnson, E., Poe, B., Kruse, D. H., Korol, O., Johnson, J. E., Womble, M., & DeSaix, P. (2022). Anatomy and physiology 2e. Openstax. https://collection.bccampus.ca/textbooks/anatomy-and-physiology-2e-openstax-439/  

In-Text

(Betts et al., 2022)

Reference List

American Psychological Association. (2020). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1037/0000165-000

When the author is the same as the publisher, omit the publisher from the reference to avoid repetition. (Publication Manual, 2020, p. 296)

In-Text

Parenthetical: (American Psychological Association [APA], 2020)
Subsequent: (APA, 2020)

Narrative: American Psychological Association [APA], 2020)
Subsequent: APA (2020)

For group authors with well known abbreviations, you can choose to abbreviate subsequent in-text citations. (Publication Manual, 2020, p. 268)

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M. (YEAR). Title of article. In F. M. Lastname & F. M. Lastname (Editors), Title of encyclopedia (Edition, Volume, page range). Publisher. DOI if available, URL if the work is freely available on the web

Reference List

Jaworska, A. (2017). Advance directives and substitute decision-making. In E.N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2017 ed.). Stanford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2017/entries/advance-directives/

Leen, A. (2022). Graffiti. In All things ancient Rome: An encyclopedia of the Roman world (Vol. 1, pp. 259-260). Greenwood. 

Stevenson, M., Thompson, J., & Ho, T.  (2023). Big data and urban health. In D.V. McQueen (Ed.), Oxford research encyclopedia of global public health. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/acrefore/9780190632366.013.437

Tomii, K. (2019). Protein properties. In S. Ranganathan, M. Gribskov, K. Nakai, & C. Schönbach (Eds.), Encyclopedia of bioinformatics and computational biology (Vol. 2, pp. 28–33). Elsevier. https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-12-809633-8.20266-5

In-Text

(Jawarska, 2017)

(Leen, 2022)

(Stevenson et al., 2023)

(Tomeii, 2019)

Reference List

Oxford University Press. (2004). Hoser. In K. Barber (Ed.), Canadian Oxford dictionary (2nd ed., p. 734).

In-Text

(Oxford University Press, 2004)

If the author is the same as the publisher omit the publisher from the reference to avoid repetition. (Publication Manual, 2020, p. 296)