Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Go to the Langara College website. Opens in a new window
Go to the Langara Library website. Opens in a new window

Chicago Style Citation Guide - Humanities

Notes

Illustrations, also called figures, are images presented in the body of the text. They can include images of artwork and photographs. Each illustration should appear as soon as possible after the first text reference to it and have a numbered caption, specifically, Figure 1, Figure 2, etc.

A credit line, in the form of a note, must accompany the image to cite the source of the illustration following the caption.

There is no need to repeat the citation in the Bibliography if the source is cited directly below each image included. Refer to the artwork by figure number in the body of the text. You are permitted to include any Artstor image in your assignment as long as it is not posted on an unrestricted website. Under fair dealing and educational exceptions in the Copyright Act, you can generally include one image from a copyrighted work containing other artistic works in your assignments. For more details, see Copyright at Langara on the Library’s Website.

Works of Art from the Web

Marilyn Diptych, a painting by Andy Warhol

Figure 1. Andy Warhol, Marilyn Diptych, 1962, acrylic paint on canvas, 2054 x 1448 x 20 mm, Tate Modern, London, http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/warholmarilyn-diptych-t03093.

Note: Do not include a Bibliography if a credit line is given in the body of the text; See note above. 

Bibliography 

Warhol, Andy. Marilyn Diptych. 1962. Acrylic paint on canvas, 2054 x 1448 x 20 mm. Tate Modern, London. http://www.tate.org.uk/art/art
works/warholmarilyn-diptych-t03093.

Lat Name, F.M. Title of the artwork. YEAR. Medium, measurements. Repository name, location. Web address. 

Works of Art from Library Databases (Artstor, Academic Search Complete, etc.)

Elvis I and Elvis II, artwork by Andy Warhol

Figure 2. Andy Warhol, Elvis I and Elvis II, 1962, silkscreen, acrylic, aluminum on canvas, each panel 82 x 82 in, Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto, Artstor.

Note: Do not include a Bibliography if a credit line is given in the body of the text; See note above.

Bibliography

Warhol, Andy. Elvis I and Elvis II. 1962. Silkscreen, acrylic, aluminum on canvas, each panel 82 x 82 in. Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto.  Artstor.

Last Name, F.M. Title of the artwork. YEAR. Medium, measurements. Repository name, location. Database name. 

Images from an Online Article or Blog Post with No Title

Note: Provide a title that describes the image.

Illustration of a Wind Turbine

Figure 3. Illustration of a Wind Turbine, “How do Wind Turbines Work?,” Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy, accessed June 27, 2018, https://www.energy.gov/eere/wind/how-do-wind-turbines-work.

Note: Do not include a Bibliography if a credit line is given in the body of the text; See note above.

Bibliography

Illustration of a Wind Turbine. “How do Wind Turbines Work?” Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy. Accessed June 27, 2018. https://www.energy.gov/eere/wind/how-do-wind-turbines-work.

Image description. "Title of article." Owner of site. Date accessed. Web address.

Photo of graffiti artist spray painting a dove

Figure 4. Photograph of a Graffiti Artist Spray Painting a Dove, "Anti-War Mural by Eron in Cevo, Italy," StreetArtNews (blog), August 8, 2018, 
https://streetartnews.net/2018/08/anti-war-mural-by-eron-in-cevo-italy.html.

Note: Do not include a Bibliography if a credit line is given in the body of the text; See note above.

Bibliography

Photograph of a Graffiti Artist Spray Painting a Dove. "Anti-War Mural by Eron in Cevo, Italy." StreetArtNews (blog), August 8, 2018. https://streetartnews.net/2018/08/anti-war-mural-by-eron-in-cevo-italy.html.

Image description. "Title of article." Owner of site. Date accessed. Web address.

Works of Art Viewed in Person

Endnote/Footnote

31. Susan Point, Salmon People, 1981, silkscreen print on paper, 50.5 x 45.7 cm, Museum of Anthropology, Vancouver. 

Bibliography

Point, Susan. Salmon People. 1981. Silkscreen print on paper, 50.5 x 45.7 cm. Museum of Anthropology, Vancouver.

Last Name, F.M. Title of Artwork. YEAR. Medium, Measurements. Repository name, location.

Exhibit Wall Text or Panel

Note: Indicate location of the gallery if it is not obvious, e.g. Grunt Gallery, Vancouver.

Endnote/Footnote

32. Wall text for Emily Carr, A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth, Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr: Into the Forest, May 13 – December 13, 2017, visited September 3, 2017. 

Bibliography

Vancouver Art Gallery. Wall text for Emily Carr, A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth. Emily Carr: Into the Forest, May 13 – December 13, 2017. Visited September 3, 2017.

Repository Name. Wall text for Artist Name, Title of the Artwork. Title of the Exhibit, Dates of the exhibit. Visited Month day, YEAR.