Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Go to the Langara College website. Opens in a new window
Go to the Langara Library website. Opens in a new window

Chicago Style Citation Guide - Humanities

One Author

Endnote/Footnote

13. Brett L. Walker, A Concise History of Japan (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2015), 221.

Bibliography

Walker, Brett L. A Concise History of Japan. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2015. 

Last Name, F.M. Book Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR. 

Two to Three Authors

 

Note: In the bibliography, only the first author’s name is inverted.

 

Endnote/Footnote

14. Greg Cook and Joan Littlefield Cook, The World of Children (Boston: Allyn & Beacon, 2010), 437-38.

Bibliography

Cook, Greg, and Joan Littlefield Cook. The World of Children. Boston: Allyn & Beacon, 2010.

Last Name, F.M, and First Name Last Name. Book Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR.

Four to Ten Authors

 

Note: For sources with four to ten authors, all names are usually listed in the bibliography. In the notes, only the first author’s name is listed, followed by ‘et al.’

 

Endnote/Footnote

15. H. J. de Blij et al., Physical Geography: The Global Environment (Don Mills: Oxford University Press, 2009), 19.

Bibliography

Blij, H. J. de, Peter O. Muller, Richard S. Williams Jr., Cathy T. Conrad, and Peter Long. Physical Geography: The Global Environment. Don Mills: Oxford University Press, 2009.

Last Name, F.M., First Name Last Name, First Name Last Name, First Name Last Name, and First Name Last Name. Book Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR. 

Editor in Place of Author

Endnote/Footnote

16. Glenn Adamson, ed., The Craft Reader (Oxford: Bloomsbury Academic, 2016), 504.

Bibliography

Adamson, Glenn, ed. The Craft Reader. Oxford: Bloomsbury Academic, 2016.

Last Name, F.M, ed. Book Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR. 

Translated Works

Endnote/Footnote

17. Carlo Rovelli, Seven Brief Lessons on Physics, trans. Simon Carnell and Erica Segre (New York: Riverhead Books, 2016), 29.

Bibliography

Rovelli, Carlo. Seven Brief Lessons on Physics. Translated by Simon Carnell and Erica Segre. New York: Riverhead Books, 2016.

Last Name, F.M. Book Title. Translated by First Name Last Name. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR.

Books With Author Plus Editor or Translator

 

Note: When there is an editor/translator/etc. in addition to the author, “edited by”, “translated by”, etc., are usually spelled out in full in the bibliography and abbreviated (ed., trans.) in notes.

 

Endnote/Footnote

18. Satoko Oki, Listen to the Voice of the Earth: Learn About Earthquakes to Save Lives, trans. Takako Iwaki (Tokyo: Kumon Publishing, 2011), 27.

Bibliography

Oki, Satoko. Listen to the Voice of the Earth: Learn About Earthquakes to Save Lives. Translated by Takako Iwaki. Tokyo: Kumon Publishing, 2011.

Last Name, F.M. Book Title. Translated by First Name Last Name. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR. 

Book Chapter or Essay/Short Story/Poem in an Anthology or Edited Volume

Endnote/Footnote

19. Kristen Hall, “Selling Lysol as a Household Disinfectant in Interwar America,” in Consuming Modernity: Gendered Behaviour and Consumerism Before the Baby Boom, ed. Cheryl Krasnick Warsh and Dan Malleck (Vancouver: UBC Press, 2013), 54.


Bibliography

Hall, Kristen. “Selling Lysol as a Household Disinfectant in Interwar America.” In Consuming Modernity: Gendered Behaviour and Consumerism Before the Baby Boom, edited by Cheryl Krasnick Warsh and Dan Malleck, 55-76. Vancouver: UBC Press, 2013.

Last Name, F.M. "Title of Essay/Short Story/Poem." Book Title. edited by First Name Last Name, pages. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR. 

Corporate Author

Endnote/Footnote

20. United Nations, The Blue Helmets: A Review of United Nations Peace-Keeping, 3rd ed. (New York: United Nations Department of Public Information, 1996), 719-20.

Bibliography

United Nations. The Blue Helmets: A Review of United Nations Peace-Keeping. 3rd ed. New York: United Nations Department of Public Information, 1996. 

Corporate Name. Book Title. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR. 

Books With Multiple Editions

Endnote/Footnote

 

21. James Morris et al., Biology: How Life Works, 2nd ed. (New York: W. H. Freeman, 2016), 57.

Bibliography

Morris, James, Daniel Hartl, Andrew Knoll, and Robert Lue. Biology: How Life Works. 2nd ed. New York: W. H. Freeman, 2016. 

Last Name, F.M. First Name Last Name, First Name Last Name, and First Name Last Name. Book Title. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR. 

Introduction, Preface, or Afterword in a Book

Endnote/Footnote

22. Eric Maskin, foreword to Change Everything: Creating an Economy for the Common Good, by Christian Felber, trans. Susan Nurmi (London: Zed Books, 2015), xxv.

Bibliography

Maskin, Eric. Foreword to Change Everything: Creating an Economy for the Common Good, by Christian Felber, x-xxvi. Translated by Susan Nurmi. London: Zed Books, 2015.

Last Name, F.M. Foreword to Book Title, by First Name Last Name, pages. Translated by First Name Last Name. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR.