Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Go to the Langara College website. Opens in a new window
Go to the Langara Library website. Opens in a new window

Chicago Style Citation Guide - Humanities

Indirect Sources

Note: Citing from a secondary source ("quoted in...") is not a recommended practice. Authors are expected to consult the original source whenever possible. If the original source is unavailable, both the original and secondary source must be listed. Make sure you follow the correct corresponding format for books or journal articles.

Endnote/Footnote

45. J. Kabat-Zinn, Coming to Our Senses (New York: Hyperion, 2005), referenced in Stewart Cotterill and Aiden Moran, “Concentration and Optimal Performance Under Pressure,” in Sport and Exercise Psychology: Practitioner Case Studies, ed. By Stewart Cotterill, Neil Weston, and Gavin Breslin (New York: John Wiley & Sons, 2016), 80, ProQuest. 

Bibliography

Kabat-Zinn, J. Coming to Our Senses. New York: Hyperion, 2005. Referenced in Stewart Cotterill and Aiden Moran. “Concentration and Optimal Performance Under Pressure.” In Sport and Exercise Psychology: Practitioner Case Studies, edited By Stewart Cotterill, Neil Weston, and Gavin Breslin, 71-92. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 2016. ProQuest.

Last Name, F.M. [original author]. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR. Referenced in Last Name, F.M. "Article Title." In Title of Publication, edited by First Name Last Name, page numbers. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR. Database name. 

Class Lectures

Endnote/Footnote

46. John Smith, “Canada Prepares for War,” History 1115: Modern History – 1900 to 1939 (class lecture, Langara College, Vancouver, BC, September 28, 2018). 

Bibliography

Smith, John. “Canada Prepares for War.” History 1115: Modern History – 1900 to 1939. Class lecture at Langara College, Vancouver, BC, September 28, 2018. 

Last Name, F.M. "Lecture Title." Class name. Class lecture at location of lecture, City, Province, Month Day, YEAR.

Courseware

Note: Treat the items in your courseware like articles or chapters in an edited book. Use the instructor’s name as the editor/compiler, and Langara College as the publisher. Some courseware has continuous pagination throughout; others preserve the original pagination of the compiled material. Cite whatever page numbers are available.

Endnote/Footnote

47. Mark Twain, “Stagecoach Station,” in English 1127 Readings, complied by Roger Semmens (Vancouver: Langara College, Fall 2013), 12. 

Bibliography

Twain, Mark. “Stagecoach Station.” In English 1127 Readings, complied by Roger Semmens, 12-14. Vancouver: Langara College, Fall 2013.

Last Name, F.M. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Courseware, compiled by name of Instructor, page numbers. Place of Publication: Publisher, Semester YEAR.

Personal Interview (Unpublished or conducted by yourself)

Endnote/Footnote

48. Diane Rogers (health-care worker), interview by Allison Andrews, October 4, 2017. 

Bibliography

Note: References to unpublished interviews are best cited in text or in notes, and are rarely listed in a bibliography. 

Interviewee First Name, Last Name. (professional title), Interviewed by First Name, Last Name, Month Day, YEAR. 

Personal Communications (Email, etc.)

Endnote/Footnote

49. Amanda Brallace, email message to author, August 24, 2018. 

Bibliography

Note: References to conversations, letters, email or text messages are usually given a note but are rarely listed in a bibliography. 

First Name, Last Name, email message to author, Month Day, YEAR.