Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Go to the Langara College website. Opens in a new window
Go to the Langara Library website. Opens in a new window

Chicago Style Citation Guide - Humanities

Entire e-book

Endnote/Footnote

23. Khair Jahan Sogra, The Impact of Gender Differences on the Conflict Management Styles of Managers in Bangladesh (Newcastle: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2014), 62-64, ProQuest Ebook Central.

Bibliography

Sogra, Khair Jahan. The Impact of Gender Differences on the Conflict Management Styles of Managers in Bangladesh. Newcastle: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2014. ProQuest Ebook Central.

Last Name, F.M. Book Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR. Database.

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries : Entry with Author

Note: A revision date, or “Last modified” date should be included when citing frequently updated electronic documents (such as Wikipedia).  If no publication or revision date is available, provide an access date (See Website section for examples with access dates). 

Endnote/Footnote

24. Nancy Deihl, “Post-modernism in Fashion,” in Grove Art Online (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009), http://doi.org/10.1093/gao/97818
84446054.article.T2082725.

Bibliography

Deihl, Nancy. “Post-modernism in Fashion.” In Grove Art Online. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009. http://doi.org/10.1093/gao/97818
84446054.article.T2082725.

Last Name, F.M. "Title of the article." In Title of Dictionary. Place of Publication: Publisher, YEAR. DOI. 

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries : Entry Without Author

Endnote/Footnote

25. Encyclopedia Britannica, s.v. “Pablo Picasso,” last modified December 5, 2018, https://www.britannica.com/biography/pablo-picasso.

Note number. Title of Encyclopedia, "Title of Encyclopedia entry," last modified date, web address of entry.
 

Bibliography

Note: Online reference works are normally cited in the notes rather than in bibliographies. 

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries : Wikipedia

Endnote/Footnote

26. Wikipedia, s.v. “Surrealism,” last modified March 23, 2020, 10:03, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Surrealism.

Note Number. Wikipedia, "Title of entry," last modified date & time, web address of entry.

Bibliography

Note: Online reference works are normally cited in the notes rather than in bibliographies.