Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Go to the Langara College website. Opens in a new window
Go to the Langara Library website. Opens in a new window

Chicago Style Citation Guide - Humanities

Journal Articles with a DOI

Endnote/Footnote

5. Jeanette Ashe, “Women’s Legislative Underrepresentation: Enough Come Forward, (Still) Too Few Chosen,” Canadian Journal of Political Science 50, no. 2 (June 2017): 600, https://doi.org/10.1017/S0008423917000300.

Bibliography

Ashe, Jeanette. “Women’s Legislative Underrepresentation: Enough Come Forward, (Still) Too Few Chosen.” Canadian Journal of Political Science 50, no. 2 (June 2017): 597-613. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0008423917000300.

Last Name, F.M. "Title of the article." Title of the Journal volume, issue (Month YEAR): pages. https://doi.org/DOI 

Journal Articles with No DOI from Library Databases

 

Note: If a source consulted through a library subscription database does not have a DOI, the name of the database should be provided, rather than a URL.

 

Endnote/Footnote

6. Melanie Kolbe and Markus M. L. Crepaz, “The Power of Citizenship: How Immigrant Incorporation Affects Attitudes towards Social Benefits,” Comparative Politics 49, no. 1 (October 2016): 109, Jstor.

Bibliography

Kolbe, Melanie, and Markus M. L. Crepaz. “The Power of Citizenship: How Immigrant Incorporation Affects Attitudes towards Social Benefits.” Comparative Politics 49, no. 1 (October 2016): 105-23. Jstor.

Last Name, F.M. "Title of the article." Title of the Journal volume, issue (Month YEAR): pages. Database name. 

Endnote/Footnote

7. Mario Bouchard, “The 2017 Parliamentary Review of Copyright Law: What Could Have Been on the Agenda, but Will Not,” Intellectual Property Journal 30, no. 1 (November 2017): 19, Canadian Business & Current Affairs.

Bibliography

Bouchard, Mario. “The 2017 Parliamentary Review of Copyright Law: What Could Have Been on the Agenda, but Will Not.” Intellectual Property Journal 30, no. 1 (November 2017): 1-24. Canadian Business & Current Affairs.

Last Name, F.M. "Title of the article." Title of the Journal volume, issue (Month YEAR): pages. Database name. 

Journal Articles with No DOI from the Open Web

Endnote/Footnote

8. Robert Pepperell and Louise Hughes, “As Seen: Modern British Painting and Visual Experience,” Tate Papers, no. 23 (Spring 2015), https://www.tate.org.uk/research/publications/tate-papers/23/as-seen-modern-british-painting-and-visual-experience.

Bibliography

Pepperell, Robert, and Louise Hughes. “As Seen: Modern British Painting and Visual Experience.” Tate Papers, no.23 (Spring 2015).  https://www.tate.org.uk/research/publications/tate-papers/23/as-seen-modern-british-painting-and-visual-experience.

Last Name, F.M. "Title of the article." Title of the Journal volume, issue (Month YEAR): pages. Web link.

Magazine Articles from a Database

Endnote/Footnote

9. Andray Domise, “The Real Danger of Racist Fabulism,” Maclean’s, January 12, 2018, Canadian Business and Current Affairs.

Bibliography

Domise, Andray. “The Real Danger of Racist Fabulism.” Maclean’s, January 12, 2018. Canadian Business and Current Affairs.

Last Name, F.M. "Title of the article." Title of the Magazine/Newspaper, Month Day, YEAR. Database name. 

Magazine Articles from the Open Web

Endnote/Footnote

10. William Saletan, “Unhealthy Fixation: The War Against Genetically Modified Organisms is Full of Fearmongering, Errors, and Fraud. Labeling Them Will Not Make You Safer,” Slate Magazine, July 15, 2015, http://www.slate.com/articles/health_and_science/science/2015/07/are_gmos_safe_yes_the_case_against_them_is_full_of_fraud_lies_and_errors.html.

Bibliography

Saletan, William. “Unhealthy Fixation: The Wars Against Genetically Modified Organisms is Full of Fearmongering, Errors and Fraud. Labeling Them Will Not Make You Safer.” Slate Magazine, July 15, 2015. http://www.slate.com/articles/health_and_science/science/2015/07/are_gmos_safe_yes_the_case_against_them_is_full_of_fraud_lies_and_errors.html.

Last Name, F.M. "Title of the article." Title of the Magazine/Newspaper, Month Day, YEAR. Web link.

Newspaper Articles from a Library Database

Endnote/Footnote

11. Bruce Cheadle, “Removing Barriers: Liberals Table Voting Reform Bill,” Chronicle-Herald (Halifax, N. S.), November 25, 2015, Canadian Business and Current Affairs.

Bibliography

Cheadle, Bruce. “Removing Barriers: Liberals Table Voting Reform Bill.” Chronicle-Herald (Halifax, N. S.), November 25, 2015. Canadian Business and Current Affairs.

Last Name, F.M. "Title of the article." Title of the Magazine/Newspaper (city, province), Month Day, YEAR. Database name. 

Newspaper Articles from the Open Web

Endnote/Footnote

12. Gloria Galloway, “Residential-School Survivors’ Claims Must Be Reviewed, B.C. Court Rules,” Globe and Mail, July 3, 2018,
https://www.theglobeandmail.com/politics/article-residential-school-survivors-claims-must-be-reviewed-bc-court/.

Bibliography

Galloway, Gloria. “Residential-School Survivors’ Claims Must Be Reviewed, B.C. Court Rules.” Globe and Mail, July 3, 2018.
https://www.theglobeandmail.com/politics/article-residential-school-survivors-claims-must-be-reviewed-bc-court/.

Last Name, F.M. "Title of the article." Title of the Magazine/Newspaper, Month Day, YEAR. Web link.