Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Go to the Langara College website. Opens in a new window
Go to the Langara Library website. Opens in a new window

APA Style 7th ed - Citation Guide for Nursing & Health Sciences

Notes on Articles Online

NOTES

Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Articles

What is a DOI? 
  • A DOI is a unique alpha-numeric code given to individual online works. It can be found in the database record or on the first page of the journal article. 
  • Magazine and newspaper articles do not usually have DOIs
  • Format DOIs as hyperlinks (i.e., beginning with “http:” or “https:”) as in: https://doi.org/xxxxx 
  • If there is no DOI in a database record, you can look for it on CrossRef - https://www.crossref.org/guestquery 
For articles with a DOI 
  • If the article has a DOI, include the DOI in the reference 
  • Start with publication information formatted as if it is a print source, and add the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) at the end of the citation.  
  • When citing a full-text journal article obtained from most academic research databases (e.g., CINAHL, PsycINFO, ScienceDirect), do not include the name of the database. 
  • A small number of academic research databases publish original work work that is only available there. In those cases, do name the database and also include the DOI (e.g. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global, and UpToDate).
For articles without a DOI 
  • If the journal article has no DOI and is from most library databases, end the reference after the page range. The reference in this case is the same as for a print journal article. Do not include database information. 
  • A small number of academic research databases publish original work work that is only available there. In those cases, do name the database (e.g. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global, and UpToDate).
  • If the journal article has no DOI but does have a nondatabase URL (e.g., it is from a free online source), include the URL of the article at the end of the reference. 

Journal Article from library database, with DOI

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M. (YEAR). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue if available)pages. DOI

Reference List

Englander, M. (2016). The phenomenological method in qualitative psychology and psychiatry. International Journal of Qualitative Studies on Health & Well-Being11, 1-11. https://doi.org/10.3402/qhw.v11.30682

In-Text

(Englander, 2016)
(Englander, 2016, p. 9) - when quoting directly

About DOIs:

  • A DOI is either in the database record or on the first page of the journal article.
  • If the database record does not provide a DOI, you can look it up from CrossRef - https://www.crossref.org/guestquery
  • Format DOIs as hyperlinks (i.e., beginning with “https:”) as in: https://doi.org/xxxxx

Journal Article from library database, with DOI, multiple authors

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M., Lastname, F. M., Lastname, F. M., Lastname, F. M., & Lastname, F. M. (YEAR). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue if available), pages. DOI

Reference List

Torabian, S., Haddad, E., Rajaram, S., Banta, J., & Sabat, J. (2009). Acute effect of nut consumption on plasma total polyphenols, antioxidant capacity and lipid peroxidation. Journal of Human Nutrition & Dietetics, 22, 64-71. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1365-277X.2008.00923.x

 

Invert all author’s names: give surnames and initials for up to and including 20 authors, with an ampersand before the last author. When authors number 21 or more, include the first 19 author’s names, then insert three ellipses, and add the last author’s name. (Publication manual, 2020, p. 286)

 

In-Text

(Torabian et al., 2005)

For works by 3 or more authors, cite the surname of the first author followed by et al. (Publication manual, 2020, p. 266)

Journal Article from library database, without DOI

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M., Lastname, F. M., Lastname, F. M., Lastname, F. M., Lastname, F. M., & Lastname, F. M. (YEAR). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue if available), pages. 

Reference List

Gibson, D. R., Zhang, G., Cassady, D., Pappas, L., Mitchell, J., & Kegeles, S. M. (2010). Effectiveness of HIV prevention social marketing with injecting drug users. American Journal of Public Health, 100, 1828-1830.

In-Text

(Gibson et al., 2010)

If you cannot find a DOI:

  • If the article does not have a DOI and is from a library database, end the reference after the page range. Do not include database information in the reference. The reference in this case is the same as for a print magazine article.

Journal article with a nondatabase URL, with DOI

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M., Lastname, F. M., Lastname, F. M., & Lastname, F. M. (YEAR). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue if available), pages. DOI

Reference List

Booth, V., Logan, P., Harwood, R., & Hood, V. (2015). Falls prevention interventions in older adults with cognitive impairment: A systematic review of reviews. International Journal of Therapy & Rehabilitation, 22(6), 289-296. https://doi.org/10.12968/ijtr.2015.22.6.289

In-Text

(Booth et al., 2015)

About DOIs:

  • A DOI is either in the database record or on the first page of the journal article.
  • If the database record does not provide a DOI, you can look it up from CrossRef - https://www.crossref.org/guestquery
  • Format DOIs as hyperlinks (i.e., beginning with “https:”) as in: https://doi.org/xxxxx

Newspaper and magazine article free on the Web

Newspaper and magazine articles found using Library databases (e.g., Canadian Newsstand) should be cited the same as a print resource.

References from websites that have a corresponding print magazine or newspaper are formatted slightly different than other online sources. The major difference from other web sources is that you italicize the website (i.e., the magazine/newspaper) name as opposed to the title of the article.

Online Magazine Article

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M. (YEAR, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine. URL

Reference List

Schulman, M. (2019, September 9). Superfans: A love story. The New Yorker. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2019/09/16/superfans-a-love-story

In-Text

(Schulman, 2019)

 

  • If the magazine article has volume and issue information, include it after the title of the magazine.
  • If a magazine article has a DOI, include the DOI in the reference in place of the URL.

Online Newspaper Article

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M. (YEAR, Month day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper. URL

Reference List

Carey, B. (2019, March 22). Can we get better at forgetting? The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2019/03/22/health/memory-forgetting-psychology.html

In-Text

(Carey, 2019)