Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Go to the Langara College website. Opens in a new window
Go to the Langara Library website. Opens in a new window

APA Style 7th ed - Citation Guide for Nursing & Health Sciences

Notes on Ebooks

NOTES

  • Include a DOI for all works that have a DOI 
  • If an online work has both a DOI and a URL, include only the DOI 
  • For ebooks without DOIs from most library databases (e.g. Gale Virtual Reference Library, Proquest Ebook Central, Safari Books Online) do not include a URL or database information. (Publication Manual, 2020, p. 299)
  • For works without DOIs from websites (not including library databases), provide a URL.

Ebook, Basic Format

Author, A. A. (YEAR). Title of work. Publisher Name. doi:xxxx  (Work with a DOI)

Author, A. A. (YEAR). Title of work. Publisher Name. http://www.xxxxxx  (Work on a website with URL, but no DOI)

Author, A. A. (YEAR). Title of work. Publisher Name. (Work from library database with no DOI)

Ebook without a DOI, with a nondatabase URL

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M., & Lastname, F. M. (YEAR). Title of work: Subtitle of work. Publisher. URL

Reference List

Doyle, G.R, & McCutcheon, J.A.. (2019). Clinical procedures for safer patient care. BCcampus. https://opentextbc.ca/clinicalskills/

In-Text

(Doyle & McCutcheon, 2019)

 

Ebook without a DOI, from Library Database

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M. (Editor). (YEAR). Title of work: Subtitle of work. Publisher.

Reference List

Bishop, V. (Ed.). (2009). Leadership for nursing and allied health professionals. Open University Press.

In-Text

(Bishop, 2009)

Ebook Chapter from Library Database

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M. (YEAR). Title of Chapter. In F. M. Lastname (Editor), Title of work: Subtitle of work (edition, pages). Publisher.

Reference List

Raphael, D. (2016). Social structure, living conditions, and health. In D. Raphael (Ed.), Social determinants of health: Canadian perspectives (3rd ed., pp. 32-56). Canadian Scholars Press.

Stanley, D. (2009). Clinical leadership and the theory of congruent leadership. In V. Bishop (Ed.), Leadership for nursing and allied health care professions (pp. 142-163). Open University Press.

In-Text

(Raphael, 2016)

(Stanley, 2009)

Online Encyclopedia Article from Library Database

Basic Format

Lastname, F. M. (YEAR). Title of article. In F. M. Lastname & F. M. Lastname (Editors), Title of encyclopedia. Publisher.

Reference List

Dai, D. Y. (2008). Intelligence and intellectual development. In N. J. Salkind & K. Rasmussen (Eds.), Encyclopedia of educational psychology. Sage Publications.

In-Text

(Dai, 2008)