Skip to main content
Go to the Langara College website. Opens in a new window
Go to the Langara Library website. Opens in a new window

Copyright for Instructors

License agreements for electronic resources

Sharing electronic resources

Langara Library subscribes to a wide range of electronic resources, including: 

  • online journals
  • databases
  • e-books
  • streaming films

Use of these materials is governed by license agreements with content providers. License agreements take precedence over legislative allowances, such as fair dealing.


Use the sections below to find permitted uses and license agreements for: 

Note: the terms of license agreements vary widely. Always check the license agreements for permitted uses before using an electronic resource. For example, some license terms allow instructors to post PDFs of journal articles or chapters from e-books in password-protected learning environments such as Brightspace by D2L and iWeb, while others only permit sharing persistent links.

Finding licenses - Journals

Find license information for journals

  1. Click on the Journal Finder link above.
  2. Search the title of the journal in question.  
  3. Your search will reveal which databases the journal is in.
  4. Each database has permitted uses listed under the title.

Note: The journal may be hosted in more than one database, each with different permitted uses. Please ensure the version you are using comes from the correct database. 

Finding licenses - Databases (ebooks, streaming)

Find license information for databases (ebooks and streaming files):​

  1. Click on the Database Name Search link above.
  2. Search the name of the database (for example, JSTOR, PsycInfo, Academic Search Complete).
  3. Refer to the 'Permitted Use' section on the databases information page.

Contact us

General Queries:

copyright@langara.ca


Our Team:

Lindsay Tripp,

Copyright Librarian
ltripp@langara.ca
604.323.5290

 

Meaghan Rafferty,

Copyright Technician
mrafferty@langara.ca
604.323.5467


The information obtained from or through this website is provided as guidelines for using works for educational purposes and is not intended to constitute legal advice.

Creative Commons License

Langara's copyright website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.