The MLA 9th ed. does not provide rules for citing specific types of resources. They provide a universal set of guidelines for any type of material based on the core elements. The examples provided in this guide were created by a Langara College librarian and follow this format.
The MLA Style Center: https://style.mla.org/
There is no need to repeat the citation in the Works Cited if the source is cited directly below each image included. Refer to the artwork by figure number in the body of the essay.
You are permitted to include any Artstor image in your assignments as long as it’s not posted on an unrestricted website. Under fair dealing and educational exception, you can generally include an image found on the web in your assignments. For more details, see Copyright at Langara on the Library’s Website.
In-text reference example: Elvis I and Elvis II (see fig. 2) repeats the same pattern as…
Fig. 1. Warhol, Andy. Marilyn Diptych. 1962. Tate Galleries, www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/warhol-marilyn-diptych-t03093. Accessed 23 Aug. 2017.
Fig. 2. Warhol, Andy. Elvis I and Elvis II. 1964, University of California, San Diego. Artstor, library.artstor.org/#/asset/ARTSTOR_103_41822001637592. Accessed 23 Aug. 2017.
Basic Format
Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of the work. Year of the work. Title of the Publication/Book, by Author's/Editor's First Name Last Name, Publisher, Publisher Date, p. xxx, plate xx (if one).
Works Cited
Lum, Ken. Grace Chung Financial. 2001, Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver. Ken Lum, edited by Grant Arnold, Douglas & McIntyre, 2011, p. 48.
In-Text
(Lum)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 332.
Basic Format
Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of the work. Year Created. Database Name, Numbers (if any), URL.
Works Cited
Fraser, Andrea and Allen McCollum. May I Help You? 1991, Franklin Furnace Archive. Artstor, library.artstor.org/#/asset/AFURNACEIG_10313902951.
In-Text
(Fraser and McCollum)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 332.
Basic Format
Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of the work. Year of the work. Title of the site, URL.
Works Cited
Warhol, Andy. Marilyn Diptych. 1962. Tate Galleries, www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/warholmarilyn-diptych-t03093.
In-Text
(Warhol)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 332.
Basic Format
Artist's Last Name, First Name. Picture of Title of the Work. "Title of the blog," by Bloggers First Name Last Name, date of the blog. Name of the site, URL.
Works Cited
McNally, Joe. Picture of Micro Air Vehicle. “Data Drones,” by Stuart Thorton, 5 May 2014. National Geographic, www.nationalgeographic.org/news/data-drones/.
In-Text
(McNally)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 332.
Note: For assignments that include a visit to an exhibition.
Basic Format
Wall text for Title of Work, by Artist Name (if applicable). Title of Exhibition, Exhibition Date, Gallery or Museum Name, Location.
Example
Wall text for A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth, by Emily Carr. Emily Carr: Into the Forest, May 13–Dec. 13 2017, Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver, B.C.
In-Text
(Wall text for A Rushing Sea)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 334.
Basic Format
Title of Film. Directed by First Name Last Name, Production Studio/Publisher, Publication Date.
Works Cited
Go Do Some Great Thing: The Black Pioneers of British Columbia. Directed by Anthony F. Brown, Brownie Productions, 2004.
In-Text
(Go Do 00:22:10-17)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., pp. 328-29.
Basic Format
Title of Film. Directed by First Name Last Name, Production Studio/Publisher, Publication Date. Streaming Service/Database, URL.
Works Cited
Miss Representation. Directed by Jennifer Siebel Newsom, The Representation Project, 2011. Kanopy, www.kanopy.com/en/langara/video/128008.
In-Text
(Miss Representation 01:06:46-52)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 329.
It is optional to include additional roles such as performers etc. if their participation is important to your research or the identification of the work.
Basic Format
Author's Last Name, First Name or Username if real name not provided. "Title of Video." Title of Website, uploaded by Name if available, Publication Date, URL.
Works Cited
“Why You Procrastinate Even When it Feels Bad.” YouTube, uploaded by TED-Ed, 27 Oct. 2022, www.youtube.com/watch?v=FWTNMzK9vG4.
Robideau, Henri. "The Big Dig." Vimeo, uploaded by Frank Robideau, 23 Nov. 2016, vimeo.com/192834324.
In-Text
("Why You Procrastinate” 00:02:15-03:56)
(Robideau 00:03:50-59)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 329.
Basic Format
Artist's Last Name, First Name or Band Name. "Title of Song." Title of Album, Record Label, Publication Date.
Works Cited
Bush, Kate. “Running Up That Hill.” Hounds of Love, EMI Records, 1985.
Jay, Abner. Folk Song Stylist. Mississippi Records, 2010.
In-Text
(Bush)
(Jay)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 330.
Basic Format
Artist's Last Name, First Name or Band Name. "Title of Song." Title of Album, Record Label, Publication Date. Streaming Service, URL.
Works Cited
Cyrus, Miley. “Flowers.” Endless Summer Vacation, Columbia Records, 2023. Spotify, open.spotify.com/track/0yLdNVWF3Srea0uzk55zFn.
In-Text
(Cyrus)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 330.
Basic Format
Creator/Host's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Podcast Episode." Title of Podcast, Episode Number (if given), Publisher, Publication Date of Episode, URL.
Works Cited
Sterritt, Angela, host. "E2: War Zone." Land Back, CBC, 22 Nov. 2022, www.cbc.ca/listen/cbc-podcasts/1341-landback/episode/15950220-e2-war-zone.
In-Text
(Sterritt 00:04:27-09:46)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 331.