MLA Style 9th ed Citation Guide - Langara Library

MLA Handbook, 9th ed., pp. 227-52
In-text citations identify the sources of your information within the text of the paper and direct the reader to the full reference entry in your works cited list at the end of the paper. In-text citations include the author and the page number(s) referenced and are typically in parentheses.

• According to Roy (32)...
• Despite their initial misgivings... (Roy 32)

MLA Handbook, 9th ed., pp. 230-32.

• Recent research by Talmidge and Lee (67)...
• A recent study indicates that…(Talmidge and Lee 67).

MLA Handbook, 9th ed., pp. 232-33.

• The findings of Pulido et al. (23)...
• Researchers found that...(Pulido et al. 23).

MLA Handbook, 9th ed., pp. 232-33.

Use the complete title, or a short form of the title if it is long, in place of an author. Book titles are italicized, article titles are put in quotation marks.

• According to the Dictionary of Symbols (83)...
• Recent data collected by…(“Arts funding crisis” 3).

MLA Handbook, 9th ed., pp. 108, 237, 313, and 342.

Resource authors are not always named individuals; they may be organizations, companies, or other entities.

• According to the BC Civil Liberties Association (7)...
• Current tax law stipulates that…(Revenue Canada 223).

MLA Handbook, 9th ed., pp. 233-34.

If you are crediting an idea to more than one source, separate citations with a semicolon within your in-text citation.

• Both authors agree that…(Miles 16; Vukovich 27).

MLA Handbook, 9th ed., pp. 262-63.

When citing media such as films or videos you can include a time code expressed as hours:minutes:seconds.

• (Debord 01:12:45-56)

MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 250.