The MLA 9th ed. does not provide rules for citing specific types of resources. They provide a universal set of guidelines for any type of material based on the core elements. The examples provided in this guide were created by a Langara College librarian and follow this format.
Basic Format
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Publication Date, pp. xx-xx.
Works Cited
Dance, Ann. "Dikes, Ducks, and Dams: Environmental Change and the Politics of Reclamation at Creston Flats, 1882-2014." BC Studies, no. 184, 2015, pp. 11-44.
In-Text
(Dance 13)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 319 and Chapter 5.
Basic Format
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Publication Date, pp. xx-xx, URL.
Works Cited
Young, India. "Culture v. Capital: The Rebecca Belmore Case." Contemporaneity: Historical Presence in Visual Culture, vol. 3, 2014, pp. 77-95, doi:10.5195/contemp.2014.96.
In-Text
(Young 81)
It is preferable to use a DOI if available. Otherwise use a permalink or stable link.
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 320 and Chapter 5.
Basic Format
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Publication Date, pp. xx-xx.Title of Database, doi.org/doi:#.
Works Cited
Dalley, Hamish. "The Idea of 'Third Generation Nigerian Literature': Conceptualizing Historical Change and Territorial Affiliation in the Contemporary Nigerian Novel." Research in African Literatures, vol. 44, no. 4, 2013, pp. 15-34. JSTOR, doi:0.2979/reseafrilite.44.4.15.
In-Text
(Dalley 22)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 320 and Chapter 5.
Basic Format
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Publication Date, pp. xx-xx. Title of Database, URL.
Works Cited
Medak-Saltzman, Danika. "Transnational Indigenous Exchange: Rethinking Global Interactions of Indigenous Peoples at the 1904 St. Louis Exposition." American Quarterly, vol. 62, no. 3, 2010, pp. 591-615. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40983421.
In-Text
(Medak-Saltzman 598)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 320 and Chapter 5.
Basic Format
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, vol. #, no. #, Publication Date, pp. xx-xx.
Works Cited
Lum, Julia. "Monsters of the Urban Unconscious." Canadian Art, vol. 34, no.1, Spring 2017, pp. 71-77.
In-Text
(Lum 75)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 323.
Basic Format
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, vol. #, no. #, Publication Date, URL.
Works Cited
Parenti, Christian and James Davis. "Free Speech as Battleground." Jacobin, 1 Apr. 2017, www.jacobinmag.com/2017/04/free-speech-charles-murray-campus-protest/.
In-Text
(Parenti and Davis)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 323.
Basic Format
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, vol. #, no. #, Publication Date, pp. xx-xx. Title of Database, URL.
Works Cited
Jeong, May. "The Patient War: What Awaits Trump in Afghanistan." Harper's Magazine, vol. 334, no. 2001, Feb. 2017, pp. 51-59. Canadian Business and Current Affairs, login.ezproxy.langara.bc.ca/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1876741786?accountid=37673.
In-Text
(Jeong 58)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 323.
Basic Format
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Publication Date, p. x.
Works Cited
Gray, Jeff. "Toronto Eyes Vancouver's Vacancy Tax to Rein in Real Estate Speculation." The Globe and Mail, 31 Mar. 2017, p. A1.
In-Text
(Gray A1)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 322.
Basic Format
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Publication Date, URL.
Works Cited
Serna, Joseph. "California Snowpack is One of the Biggest Ever Recorded, and Now Poses a Flooding Risk." Los Angeles Times, 30 Mar. 2017, www.latimes.com/local/lanow/la-me-lnsierra-nevada-snowpack-measurement-20170330-story.html.
In-Text
(Serna)
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 322.
Basic Format
Author's Last Name, First Name. " Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Publication Date, p. x. Name of Database, URL.
Works Cited
Lamoureux, Kevin. "Indigenous Students Driving Innovation." Winnipeg Free Press, 30 Mar. 2017, A7. Canadian Major Dailies, login.ezproxy.langara.bc.ca/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1881900233?accountid=37673.
In-Text
(Lamoureux A7)