Mental Health and Well-Being: Self-Care Skills

Delayed marriage and parenthood, longer life-spans, lower birthrates, and the health policy shift to informal caregiving have drastically increased the number of employees whose mental and physical health suffers due to an inability to balance work, childcare, and eldercare. Employers also feel the pinch as this inability to balance a myriad of demands is negatively impacting their bottom line. This book is a comprehensive overview of the challenges faced by employees and employers as they try to respond to this dramatic demographic change. The authors' timely work provides practical advice to managers and policy-makers about how to mitigate the effects of employee work-life conflict, retain talent, and improve employee engagement and productivity.

How does mindfulness promote psychological well-being? What are its core mechanisms? What value do contemplative practices add to approaches that are already effective? From leading meditation teacher Christina Feldman and distinguished psychologist Willem Kuyken, this book provides a uniquely integrative perspective on mindfulness and its applications. The authors explore mindfulness from its roots in Buddhist psychology to its role in contemporary psychological science. In-depth case examples illustrate how and why mindfulness training can help people move from distress and suffering to resilience and flourishing. Readers are guided to consider mindfulness not only conceptually, but also experientially, through their own journey of mindfulness practice.  

The definitive handbook on peer relations has now been significantly revised with 55% new material. Bringing together leading authorities, this volume presents cutting-edge research on the dynamics of peer interactions, their impact on multiple aspects of social development, and the causes and consequences of peer difficulties. From friendships and romance to social withdrawal, aggression, and victimization, all aspects of children's and adolescents' relationships are explored. The book examines how individual characteristics interact with family, group, and contextual factors across development to shape social behavior. The importance of peer relationships to emotional competence, psychological well-being, and achievement is analyzed, and peer-based interventions for those who are struggling are reviewed. Each chapter includes an introductory overview and addresses theoretical considerations, measures and methods, research findings and their implications, and future directions.   New to This Edition *Chapters on neuroscience, social media, social inequality, prosocial behavior with peers, and sociological approaches. *Expanded coverage of applied issues: chapters on interventions for socially withdrawn children, activity programs that promote positive youth development, and policy initiatives. *Chapters on same- and other-sex peer relationships, peer influence, educational environments, evolutionary models, the self-concept, personality, and animal studies. *Increased attention to variations in peer relations due to culture, gender, and race. *Many new authors and topics reflect a decade's worth of theoretical and methodological advances, including the growing use of complex longitudinal methods.   

Through in-depth qualitative research with African Canadians in three Canadian cities--Calgary, Toronto, and Halifax--this study explores how experiences of racism, when combined with other social and economic factors, affect the health and well-being of this segment of the country`s population. With a special interest in how racial stereotyping impacts black men and boys, the book presents stories of racism and violence and describes how reactions to racism differ across a range of social and economic variables. In addition, the discussion rejects the notion that black communities are homogeneous and provides a detailed examination of three distinct communities: Caribbean, immigrant African, and Canadian black.

Canadian universities have an ongoing history of colonialism and racism in this white-settler society. Racialized students (Indigenous, Black and students of colour), who would once have been forbidden from academic spaces and who still feel out of place, must navigate these repressive structures in their educational journeys. Through the genres of essay, art, poetry and photography, this book examines the experiences of and effects on racialized students in the Canadian academy, while exposing academia's lack of capacity to promote students' academic well-being. The book emphasizes the crucial connections that racialized students forge, which transform an otherwise hostile environment into a space of intellectual collaboration, community building and transnational kinship relations. Meticulously curated by Dr. Benita Bunjun, this book is a living example of mentorship, reciprocity and resilience.

The Nature Rx movement is changing campus life. Offering alternative ways to deal with the stress that students are under, these programs are redefining how to provide students with the best possible environment in which to be healthy, productive members of the academic community. In Nature Rx, Donald A. Rakow and Gregory T. Eells summarize the value of nature prescription programs designed to encourage college students to spend time in nature and to develop a greater appreciation for the natural world. Because these programs are relatively new, there are many lessons for practitioners to learn; but clinical studies demonstrate that students who regularly spend time in nature have reduced stress and anxiety levels and improved mood and outlook. In addition to the latest research, the authors present a step-by-step formula for constructing, sustaining, and evaluating Nature Rx programs, and they profile four such programs at American colleges. The practical guidance in Nature Rx alongside the authors' vigorous argument for the benefits of these programs for both students and institutions places Rakow and Eells at the forefront of this burgeoning movement.

Follow-up to the bestselling Mindfulness: Be Mindful. Live in the Moment. Gill Hasson, author of the bestselling Mindfulness is back and this time you can fit her advice in your pocket! This little book is packed with over 100 quick exercises, each dealing with a different situation, to help you get calm, collected, and balanced. So whenever you start to feel the stress mounting, reach for your Mindfulness Pocketbook, find the relevant exercise and instantly make life better! So if you feel like life is moving too fast and you're struggling to keep up with constant demands and commitments, don't let anxiety and worry get the better of you -- integrate these mindfulness exercises, practices, and reflections into your daily life and get in control and feel more confident, calm, and present. By progressing through the pocketbook, you will develop mindful ways of thinking and doing that will benefit a wide range of situations in your personal, social, and work life. Slow down, take a deep breath, and take that step toward an easier and more manageable life. The Mindfulness Pocketbook will help you: Move in the direction of greater calm, balance, and wellbeing Increase your insight and awareness Break free from unhelpful thoughts and thinking patterns, feel more confident, and have better self-esteem Be more able to manage other people's demands, stress, anxiety, and worry Experts increasingly recognise that developing mindfulness skills is an effective way to improve performance, reduce stress, enhance emotional intelligence, increase life satisfaction, and develop leadership skills. A mindful person consciously brings awareness to the here-and-now with openness, interest, and receptiveness. Mindfulness Pocketbook is the take-with-you guide to receptive, constructive thinking.

Today's teens are totally stressed. Based on the self-help classic, The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook, this evidence-based guide will help you develop a game plan for reducing stress so you can focus on reaching your goals.Are you feeling stressed out? You aren't alone. Between school, tests, friendships, dating, the latest drama on social media, college applications, and a bunch of confusing physical changes, it's no wonder that stress is a major mental health issue for many of today's teens. The good news is that there are simple ways you can reduce your stress and reach your goals. This workbook will show you how.With The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook for Teens, you'll learn to understand the underlying causes of your stress. You'll discover practical mindfulness and breathing techniques to help you calm your mind and body in moments of worry and anxiety. You'll also find tips for moving past “what ifs” and “shoulds,” strategies for managing negative thoughts and emotions, and tools to help you develop your own personalized plan for dealing with stress.If you're ready to move past stress and worry and start focusing on your bright future, this workbook has everything you need to get started today.

From hormones to homework, parents to peers, health issues to bad habits, life can be a pressure cooker. How can we find relief? Author Whitney Stewart introduces readers to the practice of mindfulness. With its roots in ancient Buddhist teachings, mindfulness—the practice of purposefully focusing attention on the present moment—can change a person's approach to stress, develop skills to handle anxiety and depression, and provide a sense of awareness and belonging. Stewart guides readers through how to get started with meditation as well as provides specific exercises for examining emotions, managing stress, checking social media habits and wellness routines, and setting intentions to increase happiness.

The latest book from author Daniel J. Siegel, M.D., introduces readers to his pioneering, science-based meditation practice. Aware provides practical instruction for mastering the Wheel of Awareness, a life-changing tool for cultivating more focus, presence, and peace in one's day-to-day life. An in-depth look at the science that underlies meditation's effectiveness, this book teaches readers how to harness the power of the principle "Where attention goes, neural firing flows, and neural connection grows." Siegel reveals how developing a Wheel of Awareness practice to focus attention, open awareness, and cultivate kind intention can literally help you grow a healthier brain and reduce fear, anxiety, and stress in your life.
Whether you have no experience with a reflective practice or are an experienced practitioner, Aware is a hands-on guide that will enable you to become more focused and present, as well as more energized and emotionally resilient in the face of stress and the everyday challenges life throws your way.

Supporting and Sustaining Well-Being in the Workplace: Insights from a Developing Economy explores how our understanding of the human experience at work can be enhanced and how this has broader implications for employee well-being. Each chapter covers unique perspectives on issues effecting personal well-being, including depression, working conditions that affect home life, mindfulness, and character building at the workplace. Steps and measures that can be used by management to adopt and develop well-being practices and actively cultivating a culture that nurtures employees are explored, as the book reflects a dual agenda for healthy working environments through jobs that are designed to promote wellbeing and positive crossover to employee's non-work lives. Written for academics and practitioners alike, this study presents a unique perspective on this complex and developing area of workplace practice and policy. It draws on examples from an emerging economy using the conservation of resources theory as the foundation to evaluate how the use of pertinent resources creates opportunities for staff to grow and develop as individuals.

Design for Wellbeing charts the development and application of design research to improve the personal and societal wellbeing and happiness of people. It draws together contributions from internationally leading academics and designers to demonstrate the latest thinking and research on the design of products, technologies, environments, services and experiences for wellbeing. Part 1 starts by conceptualizing wellbeing and takes an in-depth look at the rise of the design for wellbeing movement. Part 2 then goes on to demonstrate design for wellbeing in practice through a broad range of domains from products, environments and services. Among others, we see emerging trends in the design of interiors and urban spaces to support wellbeing, designing to enable and support connectedness and social interaction, and designing for behavior change to tackle unhealthy eating behavior in children. Significantly, the body of work on subjective wellbeing - design for happiness, is increasing, and several case studies are provided on this so as to demonstrate how design can contribute to support the wellbeing of people. Part 3 provides practical guidance for designing for wellbeing through a range of examples of tools, methods and approaches, which are highly user-centric, participatory and critical and speculative. Finally the book concludes in Part 4 with a look to future challenges for design for wellbeing. The book will provide students, researchers and practitioners a detailed assessment of design for wellbeing, taking a distinctive global approach to design practice and theory in context. Design for Wellbeing concerns designers and organizations but also defines its broader contribution to society, culture and economy.

Learn how to create new daily habits that build happiness and reduce stress In Move Your Mind, acclaimed actor, entrepreneur, and mental health advocate Nick Bracks delivers the practical tools and lessons that will help you make small, but measurable, daily changes to foster positive, lasting improvements to your mental health. Told through the author's own experiences with mental illness, this book offers a holistic approach to improving your mental health, and shows readers how to make positive lifestyle changes in areas like exercise, nutrition, sleep, mindfulness, and meditation. The book offers: Valuable and insightful case studies of real and well-known people who took control of and improved their mental wellbeing Key research findings from industry leaders in mindfulness, meditation, memory, mental health, psychology, and performance Guidance on how to take small, gradual steps that lead to big changes in your motivation and inspiration Perfect for anyone who has tried to take ownership of their own mental health but lacked the time, motivation, or information to effectively make a change, Move Your Mind is an indispensable guide to creating long-term behavior changes that promote increased happiness, decreased anxiety and stress, and better relationships.

The Routledge Handbook of Indigenous Wellbeing consists of five themes, namely, physical, social and emotional, economic, cultural and spiritual, and subjective wellbeing. It fills a substantial gap in the current literature on the wellbeing of Indigenous people and communities around the world. This handbook sheds new light on understanding Indigenous wellbeing and its determinants, and aids in the development and implementation of more appropriate policies, as better evidence-informed policymaking will lead to better outcomes for Indigenous populations. This book provides a reliable and convenient source of information for policymakers, academics and students, and allows readers to make informed decisions regarding the wellbeing of Indigenous populations. It is also a useful resource for non- government organizations to gain insight into relevant global factors for the development of stronger and more effective international policies to improve the lives of Indigenous communities.

Five urban Indigenous youth have signed up for a weight loss project. They introduce themselves, talk about their lifestyles, food histories, self-perception and motivation for improving their health and fitness. Fitness coach, Kent, weigh's them in, does fitness tests, takes them through their first exercise session, and has them set goals. Fit First: Youth Edition follows four Aboriginal youth from different walks of life, who all struggle with being overweight but have set a goal to get healthy in mind, body and spirit.

Clinical psychologist Professor Tanya Byron teams up with former England footballer Alex Scott, who has suffered from depression, to discover how the latest science can help us gain greater control over our state of mind and improve our mental health and wellbeing. Even in normal times, one in four of us will experience mental health difficulties, but living through a global pandemic has put our mental health under unprecedented strain. Over the past year, a team from Imperial College London, in collaboration with the BBC, have surveyed the mental health of over 350,000 people across the UK. This unique study provides a snapshot before and during the pandemic, revealing its shocking impact.

The program emphasizes the importance of physical activity. Viewers hear from the psychologists and teens themselves about the benefits of physical activity. Another aspect is good sleep hygiene. Chapman describes how most teens have very bad "sleep hygiene" and how poor sleep leads to lack of energy, irritability, anxiety, depression, and anger. Goodman emphasizes that it’s not just an issue of the amount of sleep but also the quality of sleep. She adds that smart phones interfere with good sleep. The hosts describe different things that can help people sleep better, including listening to calming music and relaxation techniques. Having good nutrition is important, because it gives you a number of different nutrients that create energy, that allows you to sleep better…to study more, to focus, to concentrate on assignments and to navigate peer relationships. Avoid drugs and alcohol; Using drugs and alcohol can backfire, because while it may give you that momentary high, it doesn't actually solve or address whatever was causing the stress.

We are living in a time that has been described as the age of loneliness. Despite Western advances in technology, living conditions, education and healthcare, we, as a society, are isolating ourselves from one another, and because of this, facing a health crisis that affects all ages, genders, races, and cultures. But how have we become so disconnected? And what can we do to change the status quo and fulfill our potential for health and well-being? Join wellness expert Tamer Soliman as he journeys through North American cities to meet with local citizens, community activists, and leading authorities on social, economic, and urban planning to discover the true factors that have profound and lasting impacts, not only on our health, but the health of the communities in which we live. This timely documentary invites us to reflect on the relationships we have with those around us and raises the question: is it possible to overcome our modern culture of disconnectedness and rediscover how truly essential we are to one other?

The Journal of Wellness (JWellness) is a peer-reviewed, open access, indexed journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of medical, physical and psychological wellness. We welcome contributions from all fields therein, including the humanities. This is the first journal of its kind. We seek to publish and disseminate information, free to all, that results in greater overall resiliency, physical strength, nutritional completeness, disease prevention and mental health among first responders and healthcare professionals and personnel.

The International Journal of Wellbeing (IJW) is an open access, peer reviewed journal promoting interdisciplinary research on wellbeing. All content is free for everyone to access, and there are no submission or publication fees for authors. The IJW welcomes timely original high-quality scholarly articles of appropriate length on the topic of wellbeing, broadly construed. Although focused on original ideas, the IJW also publishes competent and timely review articles and critical notices.

International Journal of Qualitative Studies on Health and Well-being (QHW) is a peer-reviewed international open access journal for health-related issues. QHW provides a forum for the exchange of data, knowledge, theoretical framework and methods on health and well-being. The journal aims to further the development and understanding of qualitative research by using rigorous qualitative methodology of significance for issues related to human health and well-being.

*Popular Magazine* Prevention is an American healthy-lifestyle magazine published by Hearst Corporation[2] featuring articles about health conditions, wellness, food and nutrition, weight loss, fitness, and beauty. Founded in 1950 by J. I. Rodale and published initially by Rodale, Inc., in Emmaus, Pennsylvania, Prevention grew out of J. I. Rodale's interest in exploring the connection between human health and organic agriculture.[3] The magazine launched with approximately 50,000 subscribers.[3

Since 1989, Mental Health Weekly has featured 100% original, objective articles—by journalists experienced in covering mental health issues. You'll read interviews with prominent field leaders, providers, and advocates. Mental Health Weekly provides the latest information on business trends; state funding and policy issues; litigation; federal legislation and policy; and innovative practices. Topics include managed care's impact on behavioral health, program consolidations and other industry trends, the integration of behavioral health with primary care, and mental health parity.

Everyone needs a little help being a human. From sleep to saving money to parenting and more, host Marielle Segarra talks to experts to get the best advice out there. Life Kit is here to help you get it together.

How To Be A Better Human isn’t your average self improvement podcast. Each week join Chris Duffy in conversation with guests and past speakers as they uncover sharp insights and give clear takeaways on how YOU can be a better human. From your work to your home and your head to your heart, How To Be a Better Human looks in unexpected places for new ways to improve and show up for one another. Inspired by the popular series of the same name on TED’s Ideas blog, How to Be a Better Human will help you become a better person from the comfort of your own headphones.

I’m Jay Shetty host of On Purpose the worlds #1 Mental Health podcast and I’m so grateful you found us. I started this podcast 5 years ago to invite you into conversations and workshops that are designed to help make you happier, healthier and more healed. I believe that when you (yes you) feel seen, heard and understood you’re able to deal with relationship struggles, work challenges and life’s ups and downs with more ease and grace. I interview experts, celebrities, thought leaders and athletes so that we can grow our mindset, build better habits and uncover a side of them we’ve never seen before.

Exactly. with Florence Given is your bubble-busting guide to modern-day feminism. Join Floss, the boundary-breaking author of best-selling books Women Don’t Owe You Pretty and Girlcrush to explore topics like sex, envy, queer history and body image in a nuanced and enlightening way, all while having lots of laughs along the way. Exactly is your permission slip to follow your curiosity, feel empowered, be educated and see the joy in life with compelling conversations with cultural commentators, authors, doctors, psychologists and celebrity guests. Together, we can figure this out.