Research Guides: EXPE: Applied Urban and Rural Planning: In-Depth Company Research

Find Industry Experts’ Views on Potential Employers and Industry Trends

Magazine and News Articles

Trade publications, business magazines, and news sources provide current information about business performance, issues/challenges of companies and industries, and many other things, which may not be found in other sources. Use the following databases to find information about companies, industry sectors, competition, trends, etc.

NOTE: For off-campus access, login using your myLangara username and password.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Provides full-text access to thousands of popular and industry magazine articles.
CBCA - Canadian Business & Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
- Provides full-text access to a wide diversity of Canadian sources: magazines, trade publications, scholarly journals, news, etc. Broad coverage from a Canadian perspective includes business and economics, government and politics, social sciences, etc.
Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- Provides full text of most major Canadian newspapers, e.g., The Globe and Mail and Vancouver Sun.

Industry Reports

Private research firms publish and sell reports on the industries which they monitor on an ongoing basis. Industry reports can help you gain a good understand of the industry, including size, market share, competition, industry trends, and outlook. Use the following databases to find industry reports (free of charge) in the library.

NOTE: For off-campus access, login using your myLangara username and password.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Provides full-text reports on a great number of industry sectors. Many reports are published by MarketLine, a leading business research company. Conduct keyword searches and limit the results to Industry Profiles to locate them.