Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
List of Resources
Many images on the sites below have been cleared for educational use. However, remember to check the permitted uses for any image you find to ensure you are not violating copyright. You should always give credit ("attribution") for an image you use, unless it's specifically not required.
Key Contact for Image Collections
ARTstor Digital Library
A digital library of over a million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Creative Commons Search
Identifies Creative Commons image and media sites, and allows you to search them one at a time. Click on the service you want - e.g. Fotopedia - before entering your search terms. For more details on permitted uses see About Creative Commons
EBSCO Image Collections
Select More from the Database of images from top menu and click on Images. Database of images from EBSCO Publishers; includes a variety of news archives and photo collections. Strong on world news and events. Permission to use in College assignments and instruction in print or within D2L. No posting on public websites or blogs.
IAN Image and Video Library
Particularly good for science topics. Includes custom made vector symbols designed specifically for enhancing complex (or simple) science topics. Cost-free for any use, with attribution, except redistribution or sales.
National Archives of Canada - Image Search
Includes photographs, maps, architectural and technical drawings
National Gallery of Art Images
Over 25,000 open access digital images from the US National Gallery of Art, with many famus works included. NGA's Open Access Policy
encourages wide use and provides details on permissions.