Research Guides: HIST 2210: Ancient Greece (Knapp): Finding Background Information

Note: Reference works (encyclopedias and dictionaries) provide helpful introductory information when you are new to a topic. However, they do not count towards the 8-10 sources required for the Invisible Groups assignment.

The Oxford Classical Dictionary

Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Covers Ancient Greece and Rome. The first place to look for an overview of your topic. More like an encyclopedia than a dictionary.

Tip: This is the FIRST place to look for an overview of your topic & for bibliographies. Use the Search within work box on the left hand side of the page. Don't use the large Search box on the upper-right-hand side, as it will also search in other books.

Cambridge Histories Online

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 300 volumes, covering over 15 academic subjects. Langara has access to the Ancient History and Classical Studies Collection, including these multi-volume works:
- Cambridge Ancient History
- Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Warfare
- Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Political Thought

Tip: Cambridge Histories can be difficult to search. The search results will highlight the books and/or book chapters in which your keywords appear. From there, open the PDF file for the book or book chapter. Use the search feature in your PDF reader (or CTRL+F on your keyboard) to locate your keywords/relevant sections of the text.