Industry Research

Magazine and News Articles

Trade publications, business magazines, and news sources provide current information about business performance, issues/challenges of companies and industries, and many other things, which may not be found in other sources.

Some examples of trade magazines/journals that may be of interest to planners include:

Use the following databases to search for additional information about companies, industry sectors, competition, trends, etc.

NOTE: Log in with your Langara Email account and password.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides substantial company profiles, industry and country reports in addition to full-text articles from over 3,000 magazines and journals in business, economics and industry.

You can search using the Planning NAICS code.
ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
CBCA - Canadian Business & Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Canada's most comprehensive and diverse full-text online database providing high-quality indexing for over 1,800 publications and full text for more than 700. Broad coverage from a Canadian perspective spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more subject areas.
Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Articles from more than 20 major daily papers, including the Globe and Mail, National Post, Vancouver Sun, Province, Times-Colonist, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, and Toronto Star.