Aboriginal Studies Focus

Some databases that you might want to look into for Aboriginal Studies topics include:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes 13,800+ magazines and journals, with full articles from over 9,000. Covers many subject areas.
CBCA - Canadian Business & Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Canada's most comprehensive and diverse full-text online database providing high-quality indexing for over 1,800 publications and full text for more than 700. Broad coverage from a Canadian perspective spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more subject areas.
Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new window
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal but some resources are licensed and may only be available from your own library. If you are asked to "Select your library or institution that may subscribe to an online version" select Langara College from the dropdown menu to see if we have access to the resource you are trying to access.
This initiative began in 2005 at the University of Saskatchewan as a resource for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community and currently links to about 65,000 items. Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal but some resources are licensed and may only be available from your own library.

There are also a number of great guides from our library and UBC on particular topics that provide a great place to start for a number of First Nations Studies topics.