LEAP 6 Formal Presentation Project

Here are some words and phrases related to academic research that may be new to you:

• Journal
  A publication that is released on a regular, ongoing schedule (for example, every day or once a month). Newspapers and magazines are examples of journals.
• Article
  One piece of writing within a journal. Each article has its own title and author.
• Database
  A specialized search engine for finding journal articles on your topic. Libraries pay yearly fees so students can access databases for free.
• Full text
  Sometimes databases only provide short descriptions of articles. The phrase "full text" means that the whole article is available and can be read from start-to-finish online. 

Langara Library subscribes to many databases. These may be general (covering all subject areas) or specialized (focusing on one subject area, such as Education or Business). 

These are the recommended databases for LEAP 6 research:

Many articles in the library databases are available in full text; If not, look for the Check for Full Text link.

This will take you to an interlibrary loan request form. Once submitted, the article will usually be delivered to your email account in 3-5 working days.

1. Open the LEAP 6 database worksheet below. 
2. Watch the online tutorial below. It will guide you through a search in the database MAS Ultra. Fill in the blanks in the worksheet as you go. 

Have you ever clicked on an article you found through Google, only to have it ask you for money?

You can find many newspaper and magazine articles freely available online, but sometimes interesting content is hidden behind paywalls. The Library subscribes to databases on behalf of the Langara community, so you shouldn't be prompted for payment (or see distracting advertisements!).