Research Guides: Family Studies 1115: Reference Sources and Background Materials

Reference Sources and Background Materials

Reference sources like Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks can help you better understand the background of your topic and make scholarly articles (which are very detailed) easier to read.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries available at Langara
A full list of online encyclopedias and dictionaries available at Langara Library.

Suggested resources include:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of specialized reference works covering many topics, including literary criticism, history, and social context. Search the entire collection at once, or select specific titles to look through. You will need to login with your Langara email & password to use these resources when not on campus. Suggested titles for browsing:

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Call Number: HQ 9 E52 2003 and online through Gale
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Call Number: Online & Print
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society
Call Number: HQ 767.84 E53 2004 (1st floor Reference and Online)
Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development
Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior
Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Call Number: Online
Domestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781440858833
Gender Roles in American Life: A Documentary History of Political, Social, and Economic Changes
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781440859588

Marriage Customs of the World
Call Number: GT 2690 M65 2013 (1st floor Reference and Online)
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: Online
The Canadian Encyclopedia
Call Number: Online
The Encyclopedia of Social Work
Call Number: HV 12 E53 2008 (1st floor Reference and Online through Oxford)