Skip to Main Content

ENGL 1123 (Yu)

Reference Sources and Background Materials

Reference sources like Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks can help you better understand the background of your topic and make scholarly articles (which are very detailed) easier to read.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries available at Langara
A full list of online encyclopedias and dictionaries available at Langara Library.

Suggested resources include:

Gale eBooks
A collection of specialized reference works covering many topics, including literary criticism, history, and social context. Search the entire collection at once, or select specific titles to look through. You will need to login with your Langara email & password to use these resources when not on campus. Suggested titles for browsing:

International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Call Number: Online & Print

Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: Online

Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.

Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Call Number: Online

Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.

Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: A Global Resource
Call Number: Online

This work considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: Online

A free, up-to-date online encyclopedia maintained by experts in the field.

Last Updated: Oct 16, 2025 12:06 PM
URL: https://langara.libguides.com/ENGL1123-yu
Print Page

Subjects: English