Skip to Main Content

ENGL 1123 (Rukavina)

Reference Sources and Background Materials

Reference sources like Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks can help you better understand the background of your topic and make scholarly articles (which are very detailed) easier to read.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries available at Langara
A full list of online encyclopedias and dictionaries available at Langara Library.

Suggested resources include:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of specialized reference works covering many topics, including literary criticism, history, and social context. Search the entire collection at once, or select specific titles to look through. You will need to login with your Langara email & password to use these resources when not on campus. Suggested titles for browsing:

Climate Change: An Encyclopedia of Science, Society, and Solutions
Call Number: Online
This work combines entries describing Earth’s variable climatic history, references to scientific literature, weather record data, and selected primary documents to present readers with a comprehensive account of global warming's effects worldwide.

Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: A Global Resource
Call Number: Online
This work considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.

Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Call Number: Online
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Call Number: Online
The third edition contains nearly 800 articles, covering a wide variety of topics, including endangered species, air pollution, national parks, environmental legislation, oil spills, alternative energy sources, sick building syndrome, noise pollution, smog, and urban planning.

AccessScience Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
An online encyclopedia of science and technology.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The OREs cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.