Skip to Main Content

ENGL 1123 (MacWilliam)

Reference Sources and Background Materials

Reference sources like Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks can help you better understand the background of your topic and make scholarly articles (which are very detailed) easier to read.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries available at Langara
A full list of online encyclopedias and dictionaries available at Langara Library.

Suggested resources include:

Gale eBooks
A collection of specialized reference works covering many topics, including literary criticism, history, and social context. Search the entire collection at once, or select specific titles to look through. You will need to login with your Langara email & password to use these resources when not on campus. Suggested titles for browsing:

Literary Movements for Students
Call Number: Online

Provides in-depth background on each movement as well as modern critical interpretation of its characteristic styles and themes.

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Call Number: Online

Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era.

International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Call Number: Online & Print

Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.

Canada's Diverse Peoples
Call Number: Online & Print

This source provides a chronological tour of Canada's ethnic history.

The Canadian Encyclopedia
Call Number: Online

An interactive history of Canadian events, people, places, and things; sponsored by the Historica Foundation.

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Search journals, reference works, and primary sources for critical articles, literary and cultural analysis and biographies.

Last Updated: Oct 16, 2025 12:03 PM
URL: https://langara.libguides.com/ENGL1123-macw
Print Page

Subjects: English