Skip to Main Content

ENGL 1123 (Gray)

Reference Sources and Background Materials

Reference sources like Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks can help you better understand the background of your topic and make scholarly articles (which are very detailed) easier to read.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries available at Langara
A full list of online encyclopedias and dictionaries available at Langara Library.

Suggested resources include:

Gale eBooks
A collection of specialized reference works covering many topics, including literary criticism, history, and social context. Search the entire collection at once, or select specific titles to look through. You will need to login with your Langara email & password to use these resources when not on campus. Suggested titles for browsing:

International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Call Number: Online & Print

Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Call Number: Online

Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era.

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: Online

Covers every major area of psychology.

The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Call Number: Online

Over 1,000 entries, ranging from concise summaries to longer writings, present the reader with in-depth discussions of hundreds of key topics, including: ecology, human evolution, gender, health, language and education, kinship, politics, and power, as well as biographical entries of many of the world's most influential founding anthropologists.

Handbook of North American Indians
Call Number: E 76.2 H36 (1st floor Reference)

Covers the prehistory, history, and cultures of the aboriginal peoples of North America north of central Mexico.

Last Updated: Oct 28, 2025 3:05 PM
URL: https://langara.libguides.com/ENGL1123-gray
Print Page

Subjects: English