Skip to Main Content

ENGL 1123 (Anderson)

Reference Sources and Background Materials

Reference sources like Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks can help you better understand the background of your topic and make scholarly articles (which are very detailed) easier to read.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries available at Langara
A full list of online encyclopedias and dictionaries available at Langara Library.

Suggested resources include:

Gale eBooks
A collection of specialized reference works covering many topics, including literary criticism, history, and social context. Search the entire collection at once, or select specific titles to look through. You will need to login with your Langara email & password to use these resources when not on campus. Suggested titles for browsing:

Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health
Call Number: Online

Provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, along with issues related to physical, cognitive and behavioral development. Covers every major body system, with emphasis on health issues affecting children under the age of four.

Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Call Number: Online

Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness
Call Number: Online

Regular physical activity and proper nutrition remain the most highly recommended avenues to maintaining long-term health. Physical fitness has proven to help prevent, delay, or relieve certain diseases, both physical and mental, and provides benefits to people of all ages.

International Encyclopedia of Public Health
Call Number: Online

A comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health, covering all dimensions of the field, from details of specific diseases to the organization of social insurance agencies.

Last Updated: Oct 16, 2025 11:58 AM
URL: https://langara.libguides.com/ENGL1123-ande
Print Page

Subjects: English