Skip to Main Content

ENGL 1100 (Meek)

Reference Sources and Background Materials

Reference sources like Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks can help you better understand the background of your topic and make scholarly articles (which are very detailed) easier to read.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries available at Langara
A full list of online encyclopedias and dictionaries available at Langara Library.

Suggested resources include:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of specialized reference works covering many topics, including literary criticism, history, and social context. Search the entire collection at once, or select specific titles to look through. You will need to login with your Langara email & password to use these resources when not on campus. Suggested titles for browsing:

Literary Movements for Students
Call Number: Online
Provides in-depth background on each movement as well as modern critical interpretation of its characteristic styles and themes.

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Call Number: Online
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era.

International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Call Number: Online & Print
Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.

Psychologists and Their Theories for Students
Call Number: Online
Covers major psychological theories and the people who developed them.

The World of Jim Crow America: A Daily Life Encyclopedia
Call Number: Online
Covers the daily lives of African Americans during the Jim Crow era in America, from the hundred-year period of enforced legal segregation that began immediately after the Civil War and continued until the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and Voting Rights Act of 1965.

A Dictionary of Postmodernism
Call Number: Online
Covers the critical terms and central figures related to the origins and evolution of postmodernist theory and culture.
The A to Z of Marxism
Call Number: Online
Covers the history of Marxism and all its thinkers and schools of thought.