Research Guides: Computer Science: Find Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Articles provide detailed discussion and may be paricularly helpful in the latter stages of your research.

The library's Quick Topic Search on the library homepage will return a number of different kinds of resources including academic (peer reviewed) journal articles, newspaper articles, and magazine articles. It can be a great place to start your research.

If you are having trouble deciding what is or isn't scholarly, check out our Scholarly vs. Popular help guide:

Scholarly journals vs popular magazines (Langara Library)

Article Databases

Databases provide access to the contents of journal articles, conference papers, these, patents and other information sources. Here are some recommended article databases that deal with Computer Science topics.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes 13,800+ magazines and journals, with full articles from over 9,000. Covers many subject areas.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides substantial company profiles, industry and country reports in addition to full-text articles from over 3,000 magazines and journals in business, economics and industry.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Arts & Sciences collections I-IX provide access to over 1,500 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including anthropology.
Recent issues of journals are usually NOT available through JSTOR; issues are usually at least 3-5 years old.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 2,000 peer-reviewed journals from Elsevier and other publishers, with full articles from over 1,000 journals.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidiciplinary collection of 1,500 scholarly journals in life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Short, concise videos on a broad range of subjects including 3D animation, business, coding, design, photography, video, web development with new courses are added every week.Available to Langara students, faculty and staff with authorized login. Click on the "Sign In" link located at top right-hand corner of the page. Choose the "Sign in with your organization account" option. Enter your Langara email address and press continue. You will then be able to log in with your Langara email and password.

Taylor & Francis Online