Skip to Main Content

CMNS 1115 (Yu)

Reference Sources and Background Materials

Reference sources like Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks can help you better understand the background of your topic and make scholarly articles (which are very detailed) easier to read.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries available at Langara
A full list of online encyclopedias and dictionaries available at Langara Library.

Suggested resources include:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of specialized reference works covering many topics, including literary criticism, history, and social context. Search the entire collection at once, or select specific titles to look through. You will need to login with your Langara email & password to use these resources when not on campus. Suggested titles for browsing:

International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Call Number: Online & Print
Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.

Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Call Number: Online
Covers the most important concepts in social psychology. Entries provide brief, clear explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology.

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: Online
Covers every major area of psychology.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The OREs cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.