The Library continues to focus heavily on developing its digital collections. While physical titles in the Library remained steady, the number of digital titles in the Library collection increased by 77%.
The Library's increasing focus on digital collections is a response to the shifting research habits of students and faculty. While physical circulation saw a slight uptick this year, the vast majority of Library resources are accessed online. The Library facilitated the highest number of electronic downloads in its history in 2018/19.
With total expenditures on Library collections now reaching half a million dollars, the library increasingly leverages the scalability of electronic resources, including online databases of journal articles, ebooks and streaming videos, to meet the needs of students where and when they are, be it in the Library on a break from class, or in the middle of the night at home while working to complete an assignment due the following day.
Focusing on the needs of our students, the Library takes an evidence based approach to building its collection. To this end, Langara librarians work closely with their instructor colleagues in individual departments to curate the Library’s collections to meet the specific needs of students and instructors.
Despite investing heavily in valuable multidisciplinary resources in recent years, the Library cannot provide instant access to the entire world of scholarly information; nevertheless, through reciprocal agreements and a network of libraries working together, the Library is able to source articles and books from larger institutions in British Columbia and beyond in order to provide for even the most esoteric research needs of students and instructors.
Throughout 2018/19, the Open Langara Advisory Committee (Open Langara) worked to cultivate in-house expertise, network with the open education community, and steer the College’s participation in the open education movement.
Highlights from the past year include:
To highlight and promote open textbook usage on campus, the Library ran a monthly Open Champions campaign, recognizing specific Langara faculty and staff members for their contribution and commitment to the open movement. The champions' contributions were shared through the Academic Innovation Newsletter and the Library's social media accounts, with the aim to raise interest and awareness of open educational resources (OER) among both students and faculty.
Pictured: Our first Open Champion Jeremy Chiu, an instructor in the Mathematics and Statistics department, whose adoption of an open textbook has saved his students over $20,000 in textbook costs.
Langara College continues to be one of the heaviest adopters of open textbooks among B.C. post-secondary institutions. 2018/19 saw drastic increases in both the number of instructors adopting open textbooks and the resulting amount of money saved by students. 68 course sections used open textbooks this year, exactly doubling the amount from 2017/18.
To our generous book donors:
As the number of international students at Langara dramatically increased in recent years, so too has the demand for Langara Library to circulate textbooks. In 2016/17, the Library’s course reserves, which comprises its textbook collection, accounted for 48% of total book circulation. In 2017/18, textbook usage grew to more than 54% of total circulation.
The Library successfully advocated for a collection budget addition of $14,000 to support the purchase of textbooks for the fall 2018 and spring 2019 semesters. This funding addition may be tied to the boost in usage of the Course Reserves collection over 2018/19. Overall, the Library saw a 14% increase in usage of this collection from 2017/18, even as usage of the general collection decreased by 6%.
The Library's Collection Development team will continue to monitor these shifting borrowing trends.
Langara College Library builds and manages a collection to support teaching, learning, research, innovation and academic success at the College. The goal of collection management is to provide the best possible collection in a fiscally prudent manner. Some of the major collection additions from 2018/19 include:
Read more about the Library's approach to collection management and key collection changes from 2018/19 on the Library's Collections Changes site.