Research Guides: Art History 1302: Modern Art II (Carr) Spring 2025: Writing Help

Writing Resources

Writing Centre

Book a 20-minute appointment with the Langara Writing Centre to work with a tutor and develop your writing skills. You can drop-in to the centre on the 1st floor of the library or book an in-person or online appointment.

Writeaway

You can also submit your assignment to WriteAway and get detailed feedback on your writing and citations within a few days.

Books on Writing

A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Sylvan Barnet
Call Number: N 7476 B37 2015 (1st floor Reserves)

Provides guidance on the process of writing about art with examples of different types of essays and examples of formal analysis.
Writing about Art by Henry M. Sayre
Call Number: N 7476 S29 2009 (3rd floor)

2002 edition also available

Formal Analysis

Grove Art Online:

Getty Museum:

Elements of Art (Getty)

Art Museum of Ontario:

The Critical Analysis Process

Art and Architecture ePortal

Formal Analysis Paper Examples (U of Arkansas - Little Rock)

Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliographies: OWL Purdue

Example of a Chicago Style Annotated Bibliography at the bottom of this page
Writing an Annotated Bibliography (University of Toronto)

Provides numerous tips on selecting sources and writing annotations. From the University of Toronto.
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography (Cornell University Library)

Provides examples and a suggested writing process. From Cornell University Library.