KINS 1120: Health & Exercise Management

Picking a topic for your project is often the hardest part of the research process. Watch these two videos about the cyclical nature of selecting a researchable topic, and why you may have trouble finding a "perfect source".

Picking Your Topic IS Research

One Perfect Source?

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Reference sources like encyclopedias and dictionaries are good places to start your research so you can get a general overview of your topic. They can help you learn more about a topic before you start searching for academic information. The more you know about and understand your topic at a basic level, the easier it will be to build on this knowledge as you read more complex research studies. 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries: General or specific reference sources that will provide background details on your topic.

• The Gale encyclopedia of fitness
  Covers a variety of topics on physiology and fitness, including sports, body systems, the body's reaction to physical fitness, exercise activities, diseases and conditions, treatments, fitness tests, and other health-related issues.
   
• Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook
  Basic consumer health reference information about the benefits of physical fitness, including strength, endurance, longevity, weight loss, bone health, and stress management, with exercise guidelines for people of all ages.
   
• AccessScience Encyclopedia 

  An online encyclopedia of science and technology.

• ScienceDirect College Edition 

  Limit your search to Encyclopedias

• Anatomy.tv 
  Extensive anatomy and physiology resources

• Encyclopedias and Dictionaries available at Langara

  A full list of online encyclopedias and dictionaries available at Langara Library.