Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Go to the Langara College website. Opens in a new window
Go to the Langara Library website. Opens in a new window

MLA Style Citation Guide - Langara Library

Books: Basic Format

The MLA 8th ed. does not provide rules for citing specific types of resources. They provide a universal set of guidelines for any type of material based based on the core elements. The examples provided in this libguide were created by a Langara College librarian and follow this format.

Print book with one author

Works Cited

Amato, Joseph A. Everyday Life: How the Ordinary Became Extraordinary. Reaktion Books, 2016.

In-Text

(Amato 45)

MLA Handbook, 8th ed., p. 21.

Print book with two authors

Works Cited

Dunbar-Ortiz, Roxanne, and Dina Gilio-Whitaker. "All the Real Indians Died Off": And 20 other Myths about Native Americans. Beacon Press, 2016.

In-Text

(Dunbar-Ortiz and Gilio-Whitaker 76)

MLA Handbook, 8th ed., pp. 21, 116.

Print book with three or more authors

Works Cited

Hart, Carl L. et al. Drugs, Behaviour, and Society. 2nd Canadian ed., McGraw Hill Ryerson, 2016.

In-Text

(Hart et al. 126)

MLA Handbook, 8th ed., pp. 22, 116.

Print book with an editor

Works Cited

D'arcens, Louise, editor. The Cambridge Companion to Medievalism. Cambridge UP, 2016.

In-Text

(D'arcens 56)

MLA Handbook, 8th ed., p. 23.

Print book without author or editor

Works Cited

Oxford Atlas of the World. 15th ed., Oxford UP, 2008.

In-Text

(Oxford Atlas 152)

MLA Handbook, 8th ed., p. 24.

Print book with corporate author

Works Cited

Canadian Health Information Management Association. Fundamentals of Health Information Management. Canadian Healthcare Association, 2013.

In-Text

(Canadian Health Information Management Assoc. 28)

MLA Handbook, 8th ed., pp. 25, 117.

Print book in a second or subsequent edition

Works Cited

McWhorter, Kathleen T. Successful College Writing: Skills, Strategies, Learning Styles. 6th ed., Bedford/St. Martins, 2015.

In-Text

(McWhorter 132)

MLA Handbook, 8th ed., pp. 38-39.

Ebook from a library collection (e.g., ProQuest Ebook Central, EBSCO eBook Collection)

Works Cited

Mikulec, Erin A. and Paul Chamness Miller. Queering Classrooms: Personal Narratives and Educational Practices to Support LBGTQ Youth in Schools. Information Age Publishing, 2016. ProQuest Ebook Central, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/langara-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4744492#. Accessed 14 Feb. 2016.

In-Text

(Mikulec and Miller 208)

MLA Handbook, 8th ed., p. 34.

Ebook available online (Google Books, Hathi Trust, Project Gutenberg, etc.)

Works Cited

Covington-Ward, Yolanda. Gesture and Power: Religion, Nationalism, and Everyday Performance in Congo. Duke UP, 2016. Hathi Trust Digital Library, babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=ku01.r2_100;view=1up;seq=4. Accessed 3 May 2016.

In-Text

(Covington-Ward 78 )

MLA Handbook, 8th ed., p. 35.

Government publication

Works Cited

An Audit of the Management of Groundwater Resources in British Columbia. Office of the Auditor General of British Columbia, 2010.

In-Text

(Audit 83)

MLA Handbook, 8th ed., pp. 104-105.

Government document with named author

Works Cited

Hango, Darcy. "Cyberbullying and Cyberstalking among Internet Users Aged 15 to 29 in Canada." Statistics Canada, 19 Dec. 2016, http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75-006-x/2016001/article/14693-eng.pdf. Accessed 4 Mar. 2018.

In-Text

(Hango 23)

Government document where the author is the publisher

Works Cited

The Opioid Crisis in Canada. Canadian Public Health Association, 2016. https://www.cpha.ca/sites/default/files/uploads/policy/positionstatements/opioid-positionstatement-e.pdf. Accessed 20 Mar. 2018.

In-Text

(Opioid 4)

MLA Handbook, 8th ed., pp. 104-105.