Government Documents - GEOG 2275 - Applied Human Geography (Mills)

Reports, Statistics, and City Plans

Many recent and relevant government reports in Canada can be found through the library's Quick Topic Search. However, as with many other kinds of resources, the Quick Topic Search will return many different kinds of resources. While we have some government documents available in print in the Langara Library, most is available for free online. We also have an online, interactive demographics database that will allow you to find very detailed Canadian demographic information.

Statistical Information

Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
This is the government agency that collects and reports statistics about Canadian demographic, economic, and government data. They provide the raw data as well as some reports that help you look at the numbers in a specific context. Also includes Canada Census.
Access: Free Web Resource
BC Stats This link opens in a new window
It provides statistics pertaining specifically to British Columbia. You may find information relevant to your sectors in the following sections: Employment by Detailed Industry, Business Counts and Employment by Industry, Manufacturing, and Tourism.

Canadian Industry Statistics (Industry Canada)
Using the data from Statistics Canada, it analyzes industry trends and financial performance of Canadian industry sectors. Relevant sector information includes establishments by province/region (number and size), employment, revenues and expenses, manufacturing costs, etc.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
This interactive tool takes information from Stats Canada and allows you to create visualizations of statistical data on maps. You can also create charts and tables that will provide you with detailed demographic information about specific geographic areas.
Europa World - Canada This link opens in a new window
Provides basic facts, statistics on various topics and selected directory information on government agencies, non-profits and corporations.

City Plans & Initiatives

Official city websites may have information or documentation on their city planning, healthy city plans, green initiatives, or other ideas. These sites will often be searchable by Google or other web search engines.

The Langara Library has select city planning documents for the City of Vancouver dating back to the 1960s.

- City of Vancouver Planning Documents (subject search)
  Documents date back to the 1960s subject

Government Reports & Parliamentary Debates

Canadian Library of Parliament Research Publications This link opens in a new window
These research documents provide background and analysis to MPs on issues debated in Parliament. Coverage includes aboriginal issues, crime, current legislation, education, elections, environment, family, health, human rights, taxation, youth, and more.

Older research papers (1986-2003) are also available as part of the Federal Library Depository Program.
Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada This link opens in a new window
Free, searchable database of digitised versions of the debates of the Senate and the House of commons from Parliament 1, Session 1 (1867) until February 1996. For debates after February 1996 visit parl.gc.ca

For other kinds of government reports and documents, including provincial or regional government, your best bet is to search through Google. I hate to say it, but government websites are often difficult to navigate and Google indexes many government resources better than the sites themselves.