Research Guides: Short Story Criticism: Journal Articles

Journal Articles

The library's Quick Topic Search will find academic (peer-reviewed) journal articles, popular articles from magazines, and newspaper articles. However, it does not cover all of Langara's databases. It may be necessary to search in individual databases to find the most relevant sources for your assignment. You will need to login with your Langara email & password to use these resources when not on campus.

If you are having trouble deciding what is or isn't scholarly, check out our Scholarly vs. Popular Help Guide.

Scholarly journals vs popular magazines (Langara Library)

Click the link below for a list of all Langara databases.

List of All Langara Databases

Suggested databases include:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes 13,800+ magazines and journals, with full articles from over 9,000. Covers many subject areas.
Limit your search results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) journals for academic resources only.
- Coverage: Citations and some full text: 1980s to present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text for a number of major English literature journals, covering many years. This is a huge database and contains a vast number of resources. It may sometimes be difficult to navigate, but it is often worth the struggle.
- Coverage: Full text, dates vary by journal. Some titles go back to the 19th Century
CBCA - Canadian Business & Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Essential resource for Canadian literature. Contains both scholarly and non-scholarly publications. Select Scholarly Journals while searching to limit your results to academic resources only. Not covered by Quick Topic Search.
- Coverage: Citations 1982 to present; some full-text 1990s to present
Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes reviews, bibliographies, fiction, poetry and more from noted scholarly sources and lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Some articles will not be in full-text, but the Langara Library may have access through other databases. Use the "Get Full Article" link to find out and use Interlibrary Loan.
- Coverage: Partial full-text, 1984 to present.
Access: Langara ID & password required for off-campus use
Taylor and Francis Social Science & Humanities Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1,300 online academic journals including several dozen literature titles.
- Coverage: 1997 to present

Search Tips:

Type the author's name AND the title of the story in the search boxes.
Use "..." quotation marks around the title of the story to ensure that the search looks only for that exact title.
If you don't find anything at first, try changing the search to look for the title of the short story in the "full text" of the article. You may find criticism or book reviews this way.
If you have trouble finding articles on your particular story, look for articles about the author only. There will be more to sift through, but you can apply the same ideas and themes, or interact with the analyses of other stories or novels.