Skip to main content
Go to the Langara College website. Opens in a new window
Go to the Langara Library website. Opens in a new window

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Fast, evidence-based answers to your clinical questions at the point of care.
COVID-19: Access until June 2.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Upgrade of Academic Search Complete. Has full text of thousands of academic and popular journals in a number of different subject areas.
COVID-19: Upgrade available until June 30.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
The Video Atlas is widely used by students and teachers in nursing, physical and occupational therapy, kinesiology, and massage therapy. For students who don't have access to dissection facilities, the Video Atlas provides an appreciation of the real human body and a direct understanding of the mechanics of body movement.
COVID-19: Access until June 2.
  • Free or open access
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.
COVID-19: Temporarily opening up all of their journals.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
New
Audio Cine Films (ACF) is a streaming collection of over 750 feature films, from major studios including Disney, Touchstone, Pixar, Sony, Columbia, and many more.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
COVID-19: Access until June 2.
  • Free or open access
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Berghahn Journals publishes 38 scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development – making this the ultimate guide to a visual arts education.
b>COVID-19: Available until May 31.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Bloomsbury Architecture Library is a leading digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design.
COVID-19: Available until May 31.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
DRM free, unlimited concurrent user access eBook platform with over 9,000 titles.
COVID-19: Available until May 31.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Bloomsbury Cultural History is an extraordinary, fully cross-searchable digital resource that engages with culture throughout the ages from antiquity to modernity. Thanks to its interdisciplinary nature and ever-expanding collections, this unique digital reference tool promises to be an essential resource on many courses from cultural studies and sociology to history and anthropology.
COVID-19: Available until May 31.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable and underpinned by an intuitive taxonomy for seamless navigation.
COVID-19: Available until May 31.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
A digital platform offering systematic and comprehensive coverage of education and childhood studies around the world.

Using highly structured and original content, users can easily study and compare countries through six key education levels: early childhood education, childhood, youth, primary education, secondary education, and higher education. Combined with existing eBooks, articles, and helpful research tools, students can study and build an understanding of education systems, policies, and the nature of childhood and youth experience in different countries throughout the world.
COVID-19: Available until May 31.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
This encyclopedia features thousands of critical biographical entries on individuals who have contributed to the history of thought and philosophy.
COVID-19: Available until May 31.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Bloomsbury Food Library is a growing and vibrant digital resource. Home to the widest-ranging existing collection of food studies content it reflects the interdisciplinary nature of this growing subject, making it an essential resource for students, researchers, and scholars studying food, on courses as wide-ranging as history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
COVID-19: Available until May 31.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Upgrade of Business Source Complete. Provides substantial company profiles, industry and country reports in addition to full-text articles from over 3,000 magazines and journals in business, economics and industry.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
COVID-19: Full access to all Cambridge Companions Online until May 31.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Cambridge Elements are a new concept in academic publishing and scholarly communication, combining the best features of books and journals. They consist of original, concise, authoritative, and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific research, organised into focused series edited by leading scholars, and provide comprehensive coverage of the key topics in disciplines spanning the arts and sciences.
COVID-19: Full access to Cambridge Elements until May 31.
  • Free or open access
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
COVID-19: The Cochrane Library is being made temporarily available to everyone in the world.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishes and university presses.
COVID-19: Free access until June 30.
  • Free or open access
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Database of interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem-solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
COVID-19: Full access indefinitely.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
LWW Health Library provides a singular access point to clinical and educational content, as well as rich multimedia ancillaries for teaching, learning, and practice. Langara has access to the Advanced Nursing Practice, Exercise Science, Internal Medicine, Made Incredibly Easy!, Medical Education, Occupational Therapy, and Physical Therapy modules.
COVID-19: Available until June 2.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Upgrade of MEDLINE with Full Text. Contains full text of thousands of biomedical journals.
COVID-19: Upgrade available until June 30.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
MIT Press Direct is a scholarly ebook collection. Key subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
COVID-19: Available until May 31.
  • Free or open access
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
COVID-19: Several publishers are making their content free on Project MUSE. This content will be marked with a “Free” icon. When searching in Project MUSE, limit your search to “Only content I have access to.” This will include the Free content as well as Open Access content.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
SAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content including reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more. This cross-media platform allows users to search and browse over 10,000 items, video, book and reference titles within the Social Sciences.
COVID-19: Available until June 23.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
SAGE Video showcases highly relevant educational video across key social science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs. All videos are fully citable with searchable transcripts, custom clip creation and embedding.
COVID-19: Available until June 23.
  • Langara ID and password required for off campus use
New
Statista provides quick and reliable access to over 1 million statistics on 80,000 topics from 18,000 sources.
  • Free or open access
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Collection of scholarly journals published by the University of California Press in a variety of disciplines.
COVID-19: Free access to all UCP journals until June 2020.
  • Free or open access
  • Expanded content selection available during coronavirus pandemic
Trial
Over 1,150+ scholarly titles about a variety of topics.
COVID-19: All content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) is free-to-read until the end of April 2020.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...